Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

This past Thursday I spent all day at the Massachusettes Conference for Women. I heard speeches about achieving your dreams and working through inequality by Lupita N’yongo and Hilary Clinton, about the power of hard work and endurance by John Jacobs and Tory Burch, and keys to success by Kate White and Lindsey Pollak. All of these women were incredible speakers (including the one man that managed to get into a women’s conference). This year marked the 10th anniversary of the conference, and over 10,000 people came out in support!

One of the best parts of the day was hearing Kate White and Lindsey Pollak speak. They revealed some keys to success that I must admit that I’ve heard before, but they both brought humor, candor, and unexpected personality to their talks which made the whole session amazing. I was able to grab a quick picture with Kate White, which I immediately tweeted, and which she promptly favorited and retweeted! I felt like the coolest kid in school.

I ended the day with a resume review (read: two resume reviews, shhhh) and enjoyed educated conversation about the day’s events over guacamole and margaritas with a couple of peers. I’ve only been in Boston a little over a year, and in that time I have done some great things that continue to grow my love for this new city.

Last month I went to the 54th Annual Hatch Awards at the House of Blues. This event recognizes the great advertising work that comes out of Boston, a seemingly small city next to ad giants like New York and Los Angeles but teeming with creativity. An hour-long reel of the best advertising clips played from the past year, and afterwards, I met and mingled with creatives from all across the States. Before we left, all the ad people from Bose hopped into the photo booth. It said Winner’s Booth, but who cared?

