Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

For a year and a half I lived along Indian Bayou in Indianola, MS while Leo, my then-boyfriend-now-husband, taught high school biology for Teach for America. While I was there, I taught classes as well in beginner photography, mixed media arts for preschoolers, and whatever other classes the small town needed an art teacher for.

I moved there in the winter of 2009 to frozen water pipes and an un-insulated house (it was the coldest winter in I’m not sure how many years). I went home with Leo on his winter break and came back to Indianola two weeks later to start looking for a job. I had graduated from The University of Michigan that past spring, and I had so many plans and ambitions. I promptly moved to Los Angeles, and, despite the I-told-you-so warning from my mother, hated living there. I needed to figure out a new plan for motivation and, well, work.

Starting a new routine was always invigorating, and so was fresh air, and I decided to wake up at 7 am every morning, go for a long walk, and photograph. I had been nurturing my passion for photography for a few years, and I wanted to continuously work on my craft (it wasn’t until years later that I realized how truly important it was to always be shooting, I always felt so much more alive and alert with a camera in my hand). So I photographed the bayou behind my house every day for a year, at the same time, from the same spot. While the day to day pictures don’t look like they change much (seasons don’t look that different in the South), they reflect the slowly changing climate of the town and my relationship with Leo.

We are married now, and again I have decided to photograph once a day, every day, in our new apartment in Boston. The first year of living together as husband and wife will look different from the year as boyfriend and girlfriend, I’m supposing. I like the idea of contrasting the different stages of our relationship with the natural environment. I’ll post some pictures now and then, and let you see for yourself how things are changing.

