Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

MA graduation Corcoran

This past weekend I graduated from the Corcoran College of Art and Design! I finished my MA in New Media Photojournalism, and I am so proud of all of the work that I did over the past two years on Deserts in the District.

Over the course of my two year MA program, I wanted to focus on finding environmental stories in Washington, DC: the man who petitioned to have a rooftop garden built on top of his apartment building, the homeless woman who volunteered at an urban farm. After the first year of documenting environmental stories, I realized that the issue at the heart was food access and hunger, which culminated in a series of short-form documentary videos, photo essays and written copy examining the city’s approach to feeding low-income communities.

I learned about other amazing projects while doing research for my thesis, such as AMERICA STREET people’s short and Food Desert: A Film.

I am so grateful to everyone who shared their stories with me for this project, and huge thanks to those who taught me everything I know.

